Ergon grips fan

Ergon hand grips? I’ve found it bloody hard to do a concise write-up that covers all aspects – so I’ve given up & just present these pointers, comments & notes –

My favourite? GP2-S (wonderfully comfortable for me on Ralph, my S bar Brompton – more so than I expected? because of increased body weight onto S bar bikes, definitely a must!?)

S = small grip size, concentric along length of grip
L = large grip size, ovalised along grip (messy for trimming length?)

GP1 has no bar end, uses cap
GP2 has shortest bar end & likely suitable for S, M or H bar clearances when folded (using them on S & M bar bikes)
GP3 is longer bar end & tried on S bar bike without fold issues – although GP3 does get close to the rear edge of the front wheel when folded (but I didn’t need the longer bar ends)
GP4 & GP5 are longer (make sure they work with the fold! do you really need them?)

I expect the bar caps & ends are all interchangeable (I’ve swapped between 3s & 2s without swapping grips).

Ergons available in 2 lengths: shorter for bikes with grip-shift gear changers, longer for everything else (although I’ve just remembered that there’s a 3rd version that has grip-shift length on one end only!). The shorter grip-shifts may not suit larger hands but don’t need trimming for length to fit with the brake levers (hope I’ve got that correct?). Longer grips will probably have to be shortened for any model bars, depending on brake levers used (& width of hands?). eg My S bars have Shimano brake levers (similar to the latest Brompton brake levers?) with more clearance than earlier Brompton brake levers but moving the levers inwards to avoid cutting the grips wasn’t desirable (fold clearances to cables? grips too wide for my ergonomics?). Moving levers further inwards probably impossible with M or H bars? Grips may be better “notched” (rather than a straight cut) when used with earlier brake levers?

No experience of BioCork grips. May have seen negative comments somewhere about their suitability in sweaty conditions?

Notes:
1. Ergons only clamp to the bars on the bar cap/end area. Make sure you trim enough grip length to ensure the grips are properly clamped!
2. If I was shopping for another set of GP2-S for my bikes & all I could see were GP2-L, GP3-S or GP3-L grips then I’d take them & don’t expect that I’d have any issue for comfort/use?

M bars GP2-L with late model 30° brake levers (my trimming not the neatest?) –

20130625-105822.jpg

S bars GP2-S with Shimano (Alfine) brake levers –

20130625-105841.jpg

M bars folded – GP2-L close to ground but ok (bar ends rotated upwards for riding would probably contact the ground when folded?) –

20130625-105904.jpg

S bars folded – GP2-S plenty of clearance to ground –

20130625-105931.jpg

13 thoughts on “Ergon grips fan

  1. james 17/08/2013 at 16:26 Reply

    Was installing the GP2-S grips on the S-type handlebar troublefree, or did it require modifying the GP2-S grips in osem way?

    • Aussie on a Brompton 17/08/2013 at 17:38 Reply

      Hi James,
      I needed to trim the length of the grips when installing them onto the S bars, but keep in mind my S bar brake levers are Shimano & not the early-Brompton type (compare my pics of the bars). Not really a problem when all you want to do is achieve a straight cut, you just need a strong, sharp blade to cut through the inner plastic core.
      Once I’d measured where I wanted to cut the grips, I slipped the grips (minus the bar ends) part-way onto the bars & rotated the grips while holding the blade still (to assist in keeping the cutting straight & square).
      The grips construction along the handle is rubber moulded over an inner plastic core. It’s easy to cut the rubber with a knife but the core requires more pressure. I don’t recommend using a saw blade because the saw teeth start chewing at the rubber. Maybe try a sample cut first, at a length longer than your final measurement?

      • james 23/08/2013 at 15:00

        Hi, I was able to install the GP2-S grips on my 2013 S6L without cutting them. I had to move one of the brake levers and shifter inward a bit, but other than that they fit beautifully. So much more comfortable, this is a wonderful modification, thank you for the blog post!

  2. Stormy 11/06/2016 at 14:15 Reply

    What Is that sic cross bar?

    • Aussie on a Brompton 11/06/2016 at 17:22 Reply

      Hi Stormy,
      The cross brace attached to the M bars in the post is a Brompton accessory. It was introduced by Brompton for an earlier M bar that needed strengthening (to avoid fractures?). When converting that bike from P to M bars for my wife’s use (as she felt the P bars were too flexy when climbing hills), I fitted the brace to improve rigidity. It was fiddly to fit & may be prone to failure if not absolutely correct. I couldn’t say that it helped for rigidity & so it’s been removed. Also, our usual Bromptons are now S bar models which suit us & feel far better when climbing.

      • Stormy 12/06/2016 at 04:36

        Ah, thank you, I have an m bar but really like the s which I’m buying for my girlfriend, we are in the early stages of some long distance tour planning 🙂 great site btw…

  3. love spell 28/08/2017 at 10:05 Reply

    Hi,I check your blogs named “Ergon grips fan | Aussie on a Brompton” daily.Your story-telling style is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing! And you can look our website about love spell.

  4. Ash 02/05/2020 at 06:31 Reply

    Hi may I know what model are the Shimano brake levers? Also any mods need to be done to fit them? Cheers!

    • Aussie on a Brompton 02/05/2020 at 09:28 Reply

      Hi Ash, I’m sorry but I really don’t know what model they are. I’m assuming you’re talking about the nice looking levers on Ralph, my Alfine 11speed Brompton. Ralph was fitted with a bullhorn handlebar by Fudge’s in the UK & then converted by Nick At Cheeky Monkey to an S model sometime before I bought the bike used off eBay. I think they’re probably Shimano XTR quality & should fit ok on any Brompton not using the latest gear shifters (but I don’t know if the cable ends are different). They fit very closely with the Alfine gear shifter & are still going well after about 8years (gee, time flies?). Regards.

    • Aussie on a Brompton 02/05/2020 at 10:12 Reply

      Oh, I just remembered one issue with the brake lever clearance. Because of their shape, the adjusting ferrule aligns with the forks when folded (whereas the standard Brompton levers have some clearance). Slight contact but I put up with it to enable the best lever angle. I don’t detect any difference in lever feel with the latest Brompton brakes & so if I needed to replace them I’d probably go with Brompton pre-2017 brakes (pre-integrated brake & shifters). But I do like the shiny look of these Shimano units. Regards.

  5. Doinks 09/05/2022 at 16:40 Reply

    How do you find the size difference between the S and the Ls? my hands are 20cm long (8 inches) and as per Ergon’s size calculator on their site, I should be fine with the GP3-S. I got a pair but find that they are pretty narrow at the thumb grip area. I can’t exchange them so I’m thinking of getting a set in large but not sure if that will be better for me.

    Could I confirm that if I were to get a GP2-L, I could interchange the horns with the GP3-S? The GP2s are cheaper and I’m already going to be spending almost double money due to the fitment issue and would like to save where I can.

    Thank you!

  6. Clare 23/08/2022 at 11:23 Reply

    Hi, will Ergon gp 5 work on a-bar?

    • Aussie on a Brompton 23/08/2022 at 18:15 Reply

      Sorry Clare, I stopped using Ergon grips when I started lightening my Bromptons. I’m out of date as to which Ergon fits what bar – although I’m sure many Ergon bar end types will probably hit the floor when folding.

Leave a comment